>The Good!

>

So BlogHer.  Continued.

Yes.. there was plenty of good too.
I know, hard to believe after everything bad I said in my last post.
But yes.
Some shiny moments.

Let us talk about the 
GOOD THINGS NEXT!

Eden my saucy Aussie roomie.
Me on left, her on right.
You can’t tell from the pics, but she has red hair.
I really like redheads.
 I wonder why?

Don’t you love Photo Booths?

My roomie was a major Good.
I felt like she was my sister.  Love, but we could tease each other.
I am pretty sure I would have gone home early if it was not for my roomie.
She was like my life line.
One night we decided we were hungry, but too tired to move and already in jammies.
Eden said “Room Service, my treat!!”
and I said
“Sweeeeeeeeet”

we ordered two burgers, with cheese.
french fries.
and a large sparkling water.
guess what the bill was.

SEVENTY EIGHT FREAKING DOLLARS.

Eden, you still really need to let me pay for half of that.
Good Lord.

Alexa from Flotsam came to our room to see Eden, and the poor sweet thing seemed nervous.
(after she left we peed laughing that SHE would be nervous to come see US)
she was genuine and interesting and kind.

I got to see my friend Beth from Maternal Instincts…I have met her before, and speak to her daily on Twitter – so she feels like my people.  My tribe.  Now also part of my tribe is Pixie Mama from IamPixieMama.  We share a name and a love of pot pie.  We went out to dinner on our first night there, and it was immediate clickage.  Plus she didn’t get too mad at me for wearing bad shoes then complaining about it all night.

  Good people.  

One night I went to their room for some champagne and bon bons, and I have to say – that brief 30 minute visit was the most relaxed I felt the whole weekend.  Big regret that I didn’t get to spend more time with them.  Guess why I had to leave their room?  To go to a party.  I won’t make that mistake again!  *shakes fist to the heavens*

I met Mel from Stirrup Queens! 
I admire her so much, and have “met” so many fantastic bloggers through her site.
She was warm and friendly and made me feel right at ease.

I had sangria.

I like spending time with a handful of interesting women, just talking.
With no loud music.
 2400 at once makes my tummy hurt.

The night I had a migraine..I sent poor Eden off on her own to some event…and I just walked around NYC by myself.  For two hours I browsed in stores, I people watched, I ate some food from the famous Halal Cart, I bought some ridiculously expensive lotion.  I just….was. By myself.  It was nice.

I drank lots of coffee.

Hey, I really LIKED the Expo Hall!  Maybe I am a sucker for free stuff, I don’t know. I enjoyed the swag and the vendors and the buzz.  I walked around with Eden and we laughed and sampled and tucked our business cards in every contest we could find.  I got my picture taken with a milk mustache.  We took our picture with Elmo.  I sent Nate a Mr. Potato Head postcard.  I ate chocolate and sniffed Playdough perfume.  I won an autographed copy of a book by author Todd Parr. We hit another photo booth…

You really can’t go wrong with Swan glasses.

I went to a session about Loving Your Small Blog, and really enjoyed it. It was refreshing.  Some were commenting that they were too lazy to have a “big” blog…then one woman (I wish I knew who) stood up and said…
“I think maybe if you have a small blog you have a tendency to think it’s because you’re lazy but maybe it’s quite the opposite. Maybe your blog is small because you’re busy living. You’re throwing parties for your kids, but not so your blogging community is impressed by it. You’re living the life other people are just trying to document.”
I swear I wanted to stand up and cheer, or run over and kiss her.

I tweeted my face off.

I got to see some amazing city views, while watching some incredibly leggy models fake shave their legs in a fake pond.

The first night, I had a King Size bed to myself.  I watched tv and snacked in bed and lounged around and watched the city lights and stole the hotel pens and hogged all the pillows and danced around and took a hot bath, and it was kind of lovely.

I saved my Aussie from danger a few times.  Once when she tried to hand a stranger on the streets of NYC her brand new iPhone to take a picture of us (noooooo!). Once when a street vendor fell madly in love with her and tried to feel her up while she bought a faux purse. And once when she decided a wadded up Bank Of America towel wetly splayed in a gutter would make a marvelous souvenir and she picked it UP with her FINGERS off the STREET in NYC (noooooooo!).

I found some people I hope to stay in touch with for a long long time.

And the very best good thing…when I stepped off the train at back home, my darling boy hurled himself into my arms for a huge hug and kiss.  And his hair still felt so so soft.  And his skin still smelled so so sweet. And he loved me.

Coming up next….
WHAT I LEARNED!

and it was a lot!

_______





26 Responses to “>The Good!”


  1. 1 Niksmom August 21, 2010 at 2:26 am

    >You know, next time we can skip the trip to NY and all that other stuff and just go hang out together. Whadda ya say? xo

  2. 2 Heather August 21, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    >$78? Holy Cow!That is the reason I do want to go – fantastic people that I already feel like I "know".Love that quote from the small blog.

  3. 3 Glass Case of Emotion August 21, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    >Wow $78! Sounds like a great time. Happy ICLW!- Jess (#74)

  4. 4 Mrs. Gamgee August 21, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    >This is one of my favourite Blogher rundowns… I've read quite a few in the last few days, but I have to say I really felt like I understand your experience at the conference. Happy ICLW

  5. 5 Rachell August 22, 2010 at 2:25 am

    >$78??!!! Yikes! Sounds like you had a great time though! Happy ICLW from #18!

  6. 6 Miss Ruby August 22, 2010 at 8:27 am

    >The reason Eden had no fear of picking up that towel was because she's from Ozzzztralia and we have no fear down here, how can we after all when we share our backyards [and houses] with killer spiders and snakes, crocs in the river and sharks in the ocean!Sounds like you had a ball!!ICLW#56 Miss Rubyhttp://www.themissruby.blogspot.com/

  7. 7 Jul August 22, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    >Ugh, I have such BlogHer envy! Like you I'm sure I would have had issues with social anxiety, but overall the stories coming from people who went make me think it would be so worth it. Maybe next year.

  8. 8 ay August 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    >Thanks for showing both sides of your experience. I'm a blogger but just now getting to see the community aspect of it and we'll see if I keep to myself or make some really cool friends from it. Happy ICLW. I'm #43 🙂

  9. 9 thepunkrockmom August 22, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    >I love this post! So glad you had some good times. And the good times you had sound simply fabulous! I want an experience like that in NYC (the fabulousness not the bad stuff :)) so I think I will have to put it on my kick it list!And I love what the woman said about small blogs- I think I'll write a post about it! Love your blog and photo booth pix- So glad I found it!If you love taking pictures, I'm having a photo contest on Tuesday and I would be honored if you entered! Or just stopped by!Happy IComLeavWe!<3MaryAnne #135

  10. 10 Lynn August 23, 2010 at 1:38 am

    >After reading your previous post and feeling awful for you, I'm glad to read this one and see there were some things you had to enjoy about the trip. At least now you've had the experience and can know what you liked and didn't like about it.Happy ICLW!

  11. 11 lady pumpkin August 23, 2010 at 1:58 am

    >Good ICLW to ya! Really enjoying reading about BlogHer and your experience of it. By the time I entered this blogworld (and returned to the US after living abroad for 11 mos), it was all sold out. I totally get you on the oddness of trying so hard to fit into a social arrangement that isn't the one you're most comfortable with, and trying to do the party scene, even when it's not your world. I'm so glad you got a chance to meet some great ladies who will remain in your circle for a long time hence. Take care,lp (#134)

  12. 12 Lora August 23, 2010 at 2:58 am

    >Its good to hear the good and bad of the experience. I think anyone who says an event that large is all sunshine and unicorns is fooling themselves, lol. Maybe someday I will get to go, this is at least a realistic view of what it was like and I very much enjoyed reading it!Visitin from ICLW

  13. 13 thepunkrockmom August 23, 2010 at 7:13 am

    >Oh HAI my new friend! It was a pleasure to read your posts and I'm so glad I found your blog. Great stuff here!!!Thanks for thinking of coming by on Tuesday! I hope to see you there! :DThanks for taking the time to stop by my blog and leave a lovely comment! You rock!<3MaryAnne

  14. 14 Crossed Fingers August 23, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    >Aw I loved your "Good" post because these are wonderful good moments and memories. Love the small blog post most of all – that is so true!

  15. 15 Jill August 23, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    >All the more reason why I would love to go! This is a great post! Here from ICLW…

  16. 16 Joyful Hope August 23, 2010 at 4:35 pm

    >Hi from ICLW! Sounds like a fun time. I love NYC, even when the burgers cost $78. What fun. 🙂

  17. 17 Miriam August 23, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    >Next year is here in So Cal so I'm finally going! You can come hang with me. I'm not a "blogger for hire" and have too many flaws to nag on others. LOL I cna rock some funktacular glasses with the best of them, too. :)Happy ICLW!

  18. 18 Kakunaa August 23, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    >Fantastic summary! I am sooo sad I missed it! But it's been great reading about it through other people's blogs 🙂 And I saw you listed on Thepunkrockmom, so I am glad I got to stop by! The photobooth photos are absolutely stunning. Happy ICLW! #77

  19. 19 cowgirltn August 23, 2010 at 9:08 pm

    >Man you had a fantastic time it makes me want to go next year with my small blog in tow.

  20. 20 heartincharge August 24, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    >I found your blog through ICLW and I like it here.I love convention expo halls. Unless a speaker is just fabulous, the expo hall can be the highlight for me. Even just for the bowls of candy at the booths. Sounds like the blogher expo exceeded that by far.Anyway, inspired by your story and IVF success. Will be back.

  21. 21 the2weekwait August 24, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    >Love your blog and I must say, the fact that one of your tags on the ICLW list was "sarcasm" CRACKED me up! — Jay(ICLW #78)

  22. 22 Lacie August 24, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    >I LOVE the pic in your banner!!!WOW. I am so sorry to hear the BlogHer wasn't what you wanted it to be. Nice to "meet" you! ICLW #171PS This might sound RIDICULOUS after your post, but how exactly does one become part of the BlogHer network? I am a newbie at all of this!Thanks!Lacie (mom to 22 adopted frozen embryos) ICLW #171

  23. 23 Amaprincess August 24, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    >I was at Blogher too!! It was my first time and I loved it (well what I was there for anyway..I had to leave early for a medical issue!). It would have been so cool to meet! I really need to head in and try that street meat…EVERYONE is still talking about it!! ICLW #55

  24. 24 Suzy August 25, 2010 at 12:10 am

    >Well I am still jealous because it's logistically impossible for me to get to BlogHer and I would LOVE to go, but I would probably react very much the same as you, I'm insecure and don't like loud parties so I would possibly have the same experience as you did! I'm glad there were lots of good moments for you as well.

  25. 25 Allison August 25, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    >Hm. I didn't attend BlogHer, but I imagine I would take to it much like you. Half of it would be OMIGAWD TOO MANY PEOPLE AND NOISE and half would be way cool. And I almost started cheering for the Small Blogger. Woot!!All in all, it made a fun read for the bloggosphere. 🙂 The pics are AWESOME! Love a photo booth!~ICLW #83

  26. 26 Bummed Uterus August 25, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    >I like how in between all you events you had champagne or sangria. Sounds like my kind of trip!


Leave a Reply

