>To cut, or not to cut?

>

Give me a head with hair, long beautiful hair
Shining, gleaming, streaming, flaxen, waxen
Photobucket
Give me down to there, hair, shoulder length or longer
Here baby, there, momma, everywhere, daddy, daddy
Photobucket
Hair, flow it, show it
Long as God can grow, my hair
Photobucket
Let it fly in the breeze and get caught in the trees
Give a home to the fleas, in my hair
Photobucket
A home for fleas, a hive for the buzzing bees
A nest for birds, there ain’t no words
For the beauty, splendor, the wonder of my hair
Photobucket
Flow it, show it
Long as God can grow, my hair
Photobucket
I want long, straight, curly, fuzzy, snaggy, shaggy, ratty, matty
Oily, greasy, fleecy, shining, gleaming, streaming, flaxen, waxen
Knotted, polka dotted, twisted, beaded, braided
Powered, flowered and confettied
Bangled, tangled, spangled and spaghettied
HAIR!
Photobucket
Internet…my kid has fabulous hair. HOLLA! We get stopped everywhere we go. Damn cars have pulled to the side of the road to admire it. I adore it. However, it is getting…shall we say, unruly? I have to spritz it down with mad amounts of de-tangler juice -like spritzy spritzy spritzy spritzy SPRITZY spritz spritz spritzy spritzy spritz spritz, I may get carpal tunnel. Knots and bush and fuzz and wonky and all kinds of crazy, it has a life of its own. My mother-in-law started getting hivey like 3 inches ago. But…I can’t seem to bring myself to take the child for a haircut. His hair is such a part of him, his hair gets so much attention, his hair is so damn cute! Do I give in and get it trimmed? Do I buy stock in No More Tears? Do I follow Jewish tradition and wait til age 3?
What say you?
___
5 Responses to “>To cut, or not to cut?”


  1. 1 Niksmom July 14, 2010 at 12:41 am

    >Here's a thought: photoshop most of his hair out of those pictures and see how you feel.Of course, he'll let it grow again when he's older anyway… 😉

  2. 2 Heather July 14, 2010 at 1:10 am

    >I like Niksmom's idea.I was going to just say – what do YOU want. Does he care? Does he fuss when you have to get knots out? If he likes it and you like it – that is all that matters.It is beautiful. I wish mine looked like that. HEY, he can grow it out and then shave it off and send it to me!!!

  3. 3 edenland July 15, 2010 at 2:35 am

    >I vote …… cut.I know, I'm ruthless aren't I!?Maxs hair was like that, and when we cut it it was never curly anymore. And Rocco's blonde mop was so cute …. but I swear to GORD, mate – when it's cut, you will still see his beautiful gorgeous face. Moreso, actually. He could never not be beautifully handsome.BUT: Because you are in active treatments for another wee one, it may hurt you more than usual. So, don't cut just yet if you really feel you can't. Maybe a trim?EIGHTEEN MORE SLEEPSXOXOXOXOX

  4. 4 Ariel July 22, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    >I think you should braid it in cornrows :)I like it all crazy and curly, personally

  5. 5 MrsSpock July 25, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    >I'm not sure I could bring myself to cut those flowing red locks.


Leave a Reply

