>Ah, motherhood

>He wakes up with his red hair all wonky and wild. I change his clothes with loving hands, brush his hair gently, kiss his fat cheeks. I fry an egg for him slowly, to perfection. Cut it in teenie squares….coax them into his mouth with gentle fingers, like a loving momma bird. I give him extra milk. Then we play trucks. I always let him run his trucks up and down my legs, even though it gets on my nerves. I read him stories, he chooses the book. I read it 30 times in a row if he asks. Which he does. We play at the water table, splashing and giggling. We blow bubbles and chase them down ’til each one pops. I push him in the swing til he shrieks with glee. We go for long walks, and I lug him the last few blocks home when he gets too tired. I make him a healthy lunch – the freshest vegetables, the most colorful fruit. Pasta with fresh grated cheese, homemade popsicles. I sit with him, making sure he gets his fill, retrieving the dropped milk cup, gently wiping sauce from his curls. I kiss his fat cheeks some more. I change his clothes again, so he is dry and comfy. I sit with him in the bathroom, me curled on the hard tile floor. He sits forever at the potty, reading and chatting while he tries to poop. I pretend my butt has not fallen asleep. When he is finally successful, I cheer and clap and praise. I clean out the potty, help him wash his hands, dole out the stickers and kisses. I curl up with him on the couch for naptime. I read to him again, I stroke his back and head. He whispers to me, telling me all his secrets. It is gibberish, but I nod and whisper back. I fetch him water, and gently kiss his forehead. I murmur sweet nothings until he drifts off into dream land. When he awakes and calls for me, upset – I run in and soothe him, hold his hand, kiss away the bad dream. I wipe his sweaty head. Then we play trains, and I fix the train track 64 times. Then we play cooking, and I eat 73 pretend bites. When he wants a snack, I cut fruit into perfect bite sized pieces, and sneak him a cookie too. When he gets a boo boo, I kiss it ’til he giggles. When he needs a hug, my arms are open wide. He is mine, and I am his. We live our summer days wrapped up in each other.

Until Daddy finishes work.

Then I get dropped like a hot potato.

Pffffft.

12 Responses to “>Ah, motherhood”


  1. 1 Crossed Fingers June 22, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    >haha – ah yes, daddy! I'm sure my mom felt the same way when all four of us kids went sprinting out the door as soon as my dads car pulled up after work screaming "daddy daddy daddy!"

  2. 2 Niksmom June 22, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    >Hahahahahahahaha! I laugh because I *know* the same pain! *sigh*

  3. 3 edenland June 23, 2010 at 4:03 am

    >This post is so beautiful. It made my heart sore – I wish I had that with Rocco. I did with Max. What happened!? In so many ways I'm only just getting used to Rocco now. Seems like his whole babyhood was f*cked up – so many things were felt, and I couldn't blog about it.And right now he's in daycare. I don't know what he's having for lunch. WAH.Soz mate. Thank you for this. You have now made me resolve to have the Best. Weekend. Ever. With him, and with my Maxie.XOXOXO

  4. 4 Photogrl June 24, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    >Why do they drop us SO quick for Daddy???Right now, with my lack of lap, Miss O. will curl up with M. every night on the couch…I'm SO freakin' jealous!Great pictures…LOVE his smile!

  5. 5 Britt June 24, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    >Oh my, those red curls! It's so refreshing to see a Mommy who relishes her time with her little one! You are a lucky mommy!

  6. 6 MrsSpock June 24, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    >I love those flowing red curls!I get dropped as soon as Daddy gets home too.

  7. 7 Jackie June 26, 2010 at 5:27 am

    >Haha I love how in the first pic of him, he looks like he's shrugging, like "Oops, sorry bout droppin you for dad, mom!" Or maybe that's just how I read it. :PAdorable post though!

  8. 8 daega99 June 26, 2010 at 9:53 am

    >You made me smile. My mom says I did the same thing to here too…ICLWhttp://daega99-arewethereyet.blogspot.com/

  9. 9 subfertilefrugalista June 28, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    >Oh my! His hair is to die for!! I have naturally curly hair and am really hoping our kids get it. I say that now, knowing that in 12 years, my little girl will absolutely hate it. But your sons is perfect!

  10. 10 Argentum Vulgaris July 7, 2010 at 1:04 am

    >Great blog, loved this post. I am a Dad x12 and I see the other side of the coin. Kids are not "dropping" Mom, rather looking for that extra outside their daily influence and that is usually Dad.I've added your blog to my Blogger's Cafe in Library 1 – Mom's Blogs; maybe it'll help with a few more readers.AV

  11. 12 Cyndi July 12, 2010 at 5:32 am

    >I totally feel you. On another note – OMG N is gorgeous!!!


Leave a Reply

