>The Angel of Death might be a Turkey.

>Well, my Dad.
He is still with us, but fading.

He has decided against any further medical treatment except for pain management. He is in hospice care. Has decided to REALLY quit eating now, will take nothing but teenie sips of soda here and there just to wet his mouth. His request today? Black Cherry Wishniak.

Basically, he has decided to speed the process of getting the heck out. He is done. He is soooo done, but NOT quite done enough that a little Black Cherry Wishniak isn’t tempting. Weird.

No one knows how long this might take.

God I hope it is not too long. I don’t want him to go, but I don’t want him to suffer either.

I went to be with him today, to sit with him.

Did you ever hear about that nursing home kitty cat? The one on the news, who somehow knew when residents were about to kick it? The kitty would curl up on the bed of those about to pass, even if no one expected the person was about to pass….kitty would show up, and a few days later….sayonara.

Well.
I sat with my Dad for about 4 hours today, and for the entire time, there was a TURKEY sitting outside his window.

Now, before you think I am high – his nursing home backs up to woods, and turkeys do wander around the grounds here and there, turkey sightings do happen. Even though it is suburban New Jersey? Yes. But this turkey was like, STARING AT US. Dad’s bed is horizontally pushed up against the window, and Mr. Turkey was RIGHT THERE. Within arms reach. Hanging out. Peeking in. Looking at us. Sitting. Cocking his head. Sitting. STARING INTO MY SOUL. Sitting. Might wander off to nibble some grass, but RIGHT BACK AGAIN. Like a turkey watchman. There when I got there. FOUR HOURS. There when I left.

I am telling you, it freaked me the hell out.

Could the angel of death possibly be in turkey format?

Or am I just losing it.

____

4 Responses to “>The Angel of Death might be a Turkey.”


  1. 1 Heather May 5, 2010 at 2:06 am

    >I have no idea – but that is WEIRD.I hope he doesn't suffer either.

  2. 2 Photogrl May 5, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    >I don't think you're losing it.Why not a turkey?It's so hard to watch a loved one die…My thoughts and prayers are with you.

  3. 3 Beautiful Mess May 6, 2010 at 4:00 am

    >You and your family have been in my thoughts a lot lately. I'm wishing you all so much peace.*HUGS*

  4. 4 MrsSpock May 6, 2010 at 4:10 am

    >You will find this odd, but I swear, when I worked ICU in the hospital, EVERY time I got a patient who would die on my shift, a black crow would fly near my car in the morning.When it comes to death, you never can tell how long a person will hang in there. I've had patients I swear would be gone within minutes of disconnecting a ventilator, and they'd still be alive 3 days later. I hope his passing is peaceful. Hugs…


Leave a Reply

