>Late talking….

>Anyone’s kid out there a late talker?

Cause I have one, and its driving me mad.

He is 18 months, and we have zero words pretty much. He says “uh oh” when he drops something, he says mama and dada kind of, and I think he is trying to say kitty and bubbles, but that is up for debate.

He DID say six sign language words – milk, more, eat, book, baby, nurse. DID. But not anymore. Lately he just refuses to sign. Or forgot how. I don’t know. I am freaked! We took him to early intervention, but he scored too high on their tests to qualify for speech therapy. So we have to wait three months. I have seen no improvement whatsoever since then, and now he is not signing. What the hezzie?
I just want him to be ok.

I guess I will call Easter Seals and probe further.

SIGH.

Anyone out there in internet land have any personal experience with this? Am I over-worrying? He is simply charming in all other regards…smiles and giggles and waves and points and claps, shares toys, takes turns, pretend plays, affectionate, interactive, follows directions…just a doll. A silent doll. Well not silent, he babbles A LOT.

HMMMMM.

4 Responses to “>Late talking….”


  1. 1 eden August 10, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    >Rocco says fuck all.I mean, not actually "fuck all" although if he did I would SO vlog it. He says ba for bath, mum and dad. That's it. I remember Max saying a lot by this age … I think it's just different strokes for different folks, oh Katiepie.Or, our boys are just lazy turds. HA.XOXOXOXOXOXOOMG we will meet next year and become BFFs.

  2. 2 Niksmom August 10, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    >Is he going through major growth in other areas (motor skills, walking, eating, problem solving, etc? Sometimes children will make progress in one or two areas at the (seeming) expense of another.Also, how's his eating? Give him lots of opportunities to practice different oral motor skills (schewing, licking, sucking) to help develop all the muscles needed for speech. And continually expose him to music, reading, narrate your day to him, etc.Definitely call easter seals and ask for a consult. They're awesome. I wouldn't worry too, too much yet as long as he is making some attempts at communication and vocalization. Keep us posted? 🙂

  3. 3 MrsSpock August 11, 2009 at 12:54 am

    >My friend's son was always a man of few words. She worried a great deal over it, took him to speech therapy, and was told similar things- he tested too high for services.And he's a very bright 12 year old now who is still the silent type.

  4. 4 Kimberly August 16, 2009 at 12:27 am

    >Ila is like this too! She is 17 months and says "Da" for Dada, does NOT say mama at all, and says a couple of things like, "hi," "hot," and "woof woof." That's it. I really don't think anything is wrong with her intellectually, but maybe she's not interested in speech yet??


Leave a Reply

