>Mmmm…..Food

>Lately I am all about the Crock Pot.

I never knew how much I loved the Crock Pot til I became a harried sweats-wearing stay at home Momma.

Its so easy. Throw a bunch of crap in it, turn it on, walk away – and 6 hours later you have a hot meal.

And, I get credit for cooking, even though its not really cooking, its more like, um, throwing a bunch of crap in something – but hey. I do often have to chop things so …it counts.

And, did you know you can cook FROZEN meat in the durn thing? Yep, you don’t even have to plan ahead and defrost. I have made a few meals just covering some frozen chicken breasts in the crockpot with whatever I can fish out of the pantry. Like, for example, salsa and beans or maybe some apple sauce.

Ok, this post is making me out to be a lazy whore. Whoopsies!

Anyhoo….I found this blog called A YEAR OF SLOW COOKING (cue angel harps). I mean, I love this chickie – she has supplied me with ENDLESS crockpot recipes!! She is my Crock Pot guru! She is honest about it too. If it sucks, she says so, if it needs tweaking, she says so. If the husband hates it but the kids eat it, she will let you know. Awesome.

So, tonight we are trying the Indian Chicken recipe from her blog.

This is what it looks like so far…

Photobucket

I still have to add in the yogurt and more spice, then I will serve it over brown basmati rice (cooking as we speak in the rice cooker – another appliance I HEART).

Hold please while it finishes bubblin’…

la la la

Ok!

Here is the finished product, it looks sloppy but it tasted pretty yummy.

Photobucket

I wish I had gotten some naan bread to dip. Yum. I added salt and pepper to mine, the recipe didn’t call for it, but I think it needed it. I don’t think the extra yogurt I added by mistake hurt anything – might have made it a little too soupy though. My hubs loved it, and even the little man gobbled it right up. Next time I might add some spinach in. I like things to have a lot of color.

So…

Here is the recipe:

–frozen chicken pieces – I used 2 very large chicken breasts, frozen but cut in chunks)
–1 can tomatoes, drained (I used diced)
–1/2 diced onion
–1/2 t ginger
–2 cloves garlic, minced
–1/2 t ground coriander
–1/4 t cayenne pepper
–1 t garam masala (1/2 t to add now, 1/2 later)
–1/2 cup plain non fat yogurt (I used a whole cup by accident)

The Directions.

–put your chicken pieces into the crockpot and add the can of tomatoes and all of the spices, minus 1/2t of the garam masala.

Don’t add the yogurt yet.

cook on low all day. (I cooked mine about 6 hours)
30 minutes before serving, stir in the yogurt, and taste. Add the other 1/2 tsp garam masala. Add what tastes right to you.

Yumma!

4 Responses to “>Mmmm…..Food”


  1. 1 Beautiful Mess June 17, 2009 at 2:00 am

    >Aww I miss my Crock Pot. My dad gave me a really cool email that had a bunch of Crock Pot recipes. Want me to send you a copy of it?That chicken looks really yummy! Good work!*HUGS*

  2. 2 eden June 17, 2009 at 2:50 am

    >I love crock pot "cooking" also. You get all the cred, for something so EASY. Heh.I will make that one, as soon as I convert the measurements 🙂

  3. 3 Photogrl June 17, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    >Yum! Looks great.Big crockpot fan, too. Thanks for the link, I'm off to scope out the recipes.

  4. 4 MrsSpock June 17, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    >I LOVE the Crockpot Lady's blog. I've made so many decent meals from that site.


Leave a Reply

