>Something is Sour in Shredtown

>Day 8 was a disaster (yesterday).

I was shaking and weak, my arms gave out, my legs were wobbly, dizzy, mouth dry, sweating profusely. I had to stop a few times…during overhead arm presses, pushups, jumping jacks. My knees hurt. I could not do an 8 minute ANYTHING after, just the Shred was too much. Day 7 was not just a fluke, something is not working.

There are several things that could be working against me.

1.) I got my period….and its BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAD. Bad bad.
2.) I have been trying to workout first thing in the morning, before eating. Sometimes caring for a 14 month old pushes that time way back (yesterday close to 11:00). Maybe my body needs some protein before working out? (duh)
3.) My diet lately has been absolute crap. My sister came to visit and I ate the entire time…indulging in chips, dips, hoagies, cheese, pasta, chocolate, salt salt salt and not enough water. I think I need detox? A one day cleanse? Can you do that while nursing?
4.) I have been sleeping horribly. The kid is cutting molars. Enough said.
5.) I need new shoes – my knees proclaim Payless athletic shoes to be worthless.

I am going to try to make changes…and keep going. Today is Day 9. I am going to make some eggs, drink some water, digest a bit – then try to Shred and see how it goes. I am going to keep going on Level 1 – until I feel I am handling it better and feel like I did on Day 5 – like a warrior.

Does anyone else have any suggestions? I am new to this whole working out business, so what else am I doing wrong? Advice appreciated. Even if you tell me to get up off my fat buns and SUCK IT UP WUSS!!!

Defeat Motivational Poster Pictures, Images and Photos

5 Responses to “>Something is Sour in Shredtown”


  1. 1 Motherhood Uncensored March 31, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    >Yeah, um, you need to work out earlier dude, or eat before. You can’t wait that long. You’ll be hungrier in the long run – hence the junk food. And the period doesn’t help that either.Get some new shoes, eat a light breakfast (protein) before you work out and I bet you’ll feel way better.

  2. 2 Tracie March 31, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    >I think your sugar must have been low. That has happened to me in the past when I’m more active and don’t eat enough. Also the junk gets increases your blood sugar so you have a better chance of it crashing faster.I’d definitely eat a light balanced breakfast with carbs + protein. I also wouldn’t do any kind of detox thing while nursing. Just watch what you eat and try to stick to healthier things and you should start feeling better.

  3. 3 anna March 31, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    >Since you are bfing, you already know that you need way more calories than you normally would. If you don’t take in enough calories, your body will totally work against you and start burning muscle instead of fat. Especially while bfing. The body thinks those fat stores are necessary to make food for the baby. If it looks like it’s going to be a while before you workout, make sure you grab a bite. Also, if you just aren’t feeling it and are brand new to working out, it really doesn’t hurt to take one day off. Your body may just need a break.Hi, my name is Anna – I’m not really a know-it-all, I just play one on the internet.

  4. 4 MamabearMills March 31, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    >The beginning usually sux if youre out of shape. So suck it up woosy!lol, kidding! just keep on keeping on, eat some bananas to help with muscle cramps.

  5. 5 Christina April 1, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    >I agree with the others. That weak & shaky feeling is likely due to a blood sugar crash. Seeing how you're bf'ing and not used to working out, I'd recommend eating a light breakfast (egg and a piece of toast?) then exercising an hour or two later. Also, after you exercise, you should eat something within one hour to replace your glycogen stores in your muscles. That will help you the next time you exercise. And thus ends my knowledge from my nursing school nutrition class.


Leave a Reply

