>More Sleep Questions…HELP

>I should wait to post this until ICLW, so more people can weigh in – but by then I might be dead from sleep deprivation.

SO…..it seems for now, that the CIO did in fact work. The Boo man goes down pretty easily at 7:30 now….a little story, a little rocking, a little nursing…I put him in his crib drowsy but awake, and he either rolls over and goes off to sleep, or he cries for like maybe 8 minutes (2 sessions of pat and shhhhhh) and goes off to sleep. Not bad! And, when he wakes up here and there he can either get himself back to sleep, or I go in and do a quick pat and shhhhh and he goes right back. Progress?

BUT…

Here is the thing….

EVERY night somewhere in the 3:30 to 4:00 am range…he wakes up and WILL NOT GO BACK TO SLEEP.
Not for all the tea in China.
Not for all the milkie in Boobytown.

We have tried repeating the CIO at that point. One night he went for AN HOUR before I gave up and picked him up, and then he was AWAKE so my husband took him to the basement so I could catch some more Z’s. Last night he went TWO HOURS, an hour of timed CIO and then…just UP, fussing, crying, whining… not even nursing could soothe him, he rejected that. The nerve!!! We rocked and shhhh’d til we were blue, and he would not go back to sleep until 6 am. Then slept til 8. So I know he is tired, but its like he has decided that 4 am is wakey wakey time, and nothing we do can convince him otherwise. At first I thought maybe he was in pain from reflux (we had recently stopped his meds) but reinstating the bedtime dose has done nothing to help. I thought maybe teething, but teethers, teething tablets, tylenol…nope… does not help.

I really think he is just in a bad habit – some separation anxiety – and he is STUBBORN and knows if he cries hard enough and long enough – he will get the pleasure of our company.

WHAT DO I DO????

I really cannot sleep with him in bed with me. I will lie awake for hours, I can’t even doze…so bringing him into bed with us is just not a good option for me.

He does sleep pretty well in his swing, but he is hanging out of the thing, outgrowing it…we can’t rely on that forever.

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAGGGGGGggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

motherhood Pictures, Images and Photos

9 Responses to “>More Sleep Questions…HELP”


  1. 1 Average Girl In Average World November 14, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    >Well, consider moving his bedtime to 8:30 or 9? maybe that will help push back the 4 a.m. feeding until 5:30 or 6? One thing that I found to work well was when the kids woke up in the middle of the night, do not turn any lights on, no playing, no cooing, just bottle and diaper change and back in the bed.

  2. 2 Kimberly November 18, 2008 at 11:51 am

    >How are you doing, dear? I hope things are going a bit better and you’re managing through those night wakings. Ila seemed to do well with the CIO for a few days and now all hell has broken loose again! I wish she would stay in a good phase for once. Oy! with the phases.

  3. 3 Topcat November 23, 2008 at 11:45 am

    >MATE!!!!!!!Mate mate mate mate mate.I. Feel. Your. Pain.Exactly the same is happening here, in Chez Topcat. It is KILLING ME. I’m avidly awaiting your comment section for the magic answer.Do you know, at 3am, if you raise your voice a bit and say “PLEASE just go to sleep!!” ….. then he will cry HARDER. There’s my tip.High fiving you from across the earth.XOXOX

  4. 4 Sam November 23, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    >oh dear, not having children, I cannot help, but can sympathise with your lack of sleep!!

  5. 5 Rebecca November 24, 2008 at 2:03 am

    >I’m not sure how much I can help. I never let my daughter CIO, I just couldn’t deal with it. I sort of just let her do what she needed to do. If she wakes up in the middle of the night and can’t be consoled back to sleep we bring her to bed with us. It’s definitely harder sleeping with her in bed but at least we are all sleeping. I know you said you couldn’t sleep with him in your bed, but maybe you should keep trying.ICLW

  6. 6 Elana Kahn November 24, 2008 at 3:20 am

    >I’m sorry Boo Boo is giving you such a hard time with sleep. I agree with Average Girl that you could try to move his bedtime a little later to try to get him to sleep in a little latter. Here from ICLW.

  7. 7 Average Girl In Average World November 24, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    >Please visit my blogand see my challenge! I hope you participate and you tell all your friends!

  8. 8 Michelle November 25, 2008 at 11:59 am

    >I have been there! CIO worked for us to some extent, but to be honest, it wasn’t until my second and thrid were weaned (15 and 16 months) that they really slept through with any regularity. I feel your pain.I came from ICLW. So see, even though you didn’t save this post like you wanted to, I’m still reading. :)Good luck.

  9. 9 FloridaWife November 28, 2008 at 4:41 am

    >According to the Baby Whisperer, if he wakes up consistently at a certain time, you do a “wake to sleep.” You wake him up a half hour before he does it, do this for a few days, and you break the cycle. Makes sense? I’ve not tried this so I don’t know, but I read about it.


Leave a Reply

