>Nom Nom Nom

>Well, my last post was about hating to diet, so lets make this one about CHOCOLATE. Yea, baby, yea!!!!!

This is a recipe my mother in law gave me for a quick cake you can whip up in the microwave. I actually need your help on this one my friends, cause although it was tasty, it was kinda…tough? Chewy? Dry? I am not sure what I did wrong, and I am hoping someone can figure it out…cause this recipe has SUCH potential. Yummy cake in 5 minutes? I’m so down!

But I want my cake to be moist…not so dense and chewy. I am NOT proficient in baking…so I need someone who IS to figure this out. One thing I MAY have done wrong, is that I did not beat the egg before I put it in the dry mix, so I had to mix the HECK out of it all to get the egg blended…could that make it tough? ANYHOO…the challenge is on…make this, make it 12 times if you need to, I am giving you permission. Lets all eat lots of cake in the name of science! Yea!
I hope someone who comes across this blog can fix it. Momma loves me some CAKE.

5 Minute Chocolate Mug Cake
4 Tablespoons flour (plain flour, not self-rising)
4 Tablespoons sugar
2 Tablespoons Hershey’s baking cocoa
Dash of vanilla
1 egg
3 Tablespoons milk
3 Tablespoons oil
3 Tablespoons chocolate chips (optional)
1 large microwave safe mug

Add dry ingredients to mug and mix well. Add the vanilla, egg, milk, and oil to mug and mix well. Add the chocolate chips (if using) and mix well. Put mug in microwave and cook for 3 minutes at 1000 watts. The cake may rise above the top of the mug, but don’t be scared! It won’t run down the sides of the mug, but will drop back down when micro stops. Allow to cool a couple of minutes, then tip out onto a plate if ya wanna, (or just eat it right out of the mug). I drizzled with chocolate sauce and topped with whipped cream. I suppose you could also frost it, ohhhh yea! My brain just exploded.

Here is mine before…

Photobucket

And after, still in mug…

Photobucket

Then after I made it all purdy…..

Photobucket

Slurp!!!!!

10 Responses to “>Nom Nom Nom”


  1. 1 Kristy October 19, 2008 at 2:50 am

    >That looks sooo good!

  2. 2 Niksmom October 20, 2008 at 1:05 am

    >Heh, heh. Yeah, the egg needs to be beaten before adding to flour. Flour is a funny thing when it gets wet…the more you mix it the tougher it gets. That's why you knead bread dough a lot (pizza, too)…so it gets chewier. Conversely, it's also why lots of "serious" bakers sift their flour extra fine…makes for really light, delicate cakes & pastries.Try the cake again and beat the egg first. If it's still not as moist as you want it, maybe adjust the cooking power down one notch from where you did it before. Some microwaves are more powerful than others and what's a "5" on one can be like a "7" on another.Good luck! 🙂 BTW, send your email and I'll send you the slow cooker recipe for the sweet potatoes.

  3. 3 kateypie35 October 20, 2008 at 1:29 am

    >Ohhhhhh….DOH!! I THOUGHT that might be it, but I wasn’t sure. Ooo, now I have an excuse to try again, gotta try beating egg first then lightly mixing. THANKS niksmom!!!

  4. 4 Average Girl In Average World October 20, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    >OH MY…. I am frothing again..hold on…Ok, I got the napkin. Still missed the drool. Oh well..Looks delicious!

  5. 5 Collette October 22, 2008 at 4:32 am

    >Hmmm…Forget about the “healthy eating” stuff hubby has started and eat chocolate in the name of science…its on!And I totally agree with niksmom. Work the flour less. Something about gluten…not sure what though.

  6. 6 Jenn October 23, 2008 at 1:17 am

    >I’ve been seeing this recipe posted everywhere. I’m glad to know it actually works! (ICLW)

  7. 7 Kristin October 24, 2008 at 1:23 am

    >Oooooh…that looks so good.ICLW

  8. 8 Michelle October 24, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    >OMG this looks sooooo good! I am going to try this weekend!

  9. 9 Laura October 27, 2008 at 11:10 am

    >Oh that looks heavenly! May I borrow the recipe? Here from ICLW.

  10. 10 Anne October 28, 2008 at 12:57 am

    >In the name of science I decided to try this recipe. My microwave says it’s 950 watts and it came out spongy, moist, and not chewy. Yay! I did beat the egg beforehand and gently mixed it. And being that I am now so stuffed, all I could do was report in and then blog about it myself. Thanks, Kate!


Leave a Reply

