>Sleep. Yes, I am writing about it again.

>Boolicious is still having serious sleep issues, and I am about at the end of my durn rope.

I am bored with writing about it, but am hoping some brilliant world famous child psychologist/pediatrician to the stars/witch doctor might do a search for “I suck as an X-ray technician anyone else” and decide to give me some free yet astoundingly helpful advice.
(um, yea, that IS how one person googled themselves to my blog…heehee!! I love statcounter. Another good one? “Pee So Bad”. What?)

Anyhoo…

He is screaming in agony as soon as we lay him down in his crib, (around 7:30 pm) even if he is almost asleep first from nursing. Like gut wrenching, choke on his own spit, wailing agony. SO anyone telling me to let him cry it out? Sorry, but I simply cannot. Once the choking starts, I am almost about to pass out from anxiety…there is no way I could walk away from that to let him “self soothe”. No.

I thought for sure it was an ear infection. We had some ear tugging, just got over a cold, the lying down aversion. I was so sure. Took him to the pedi…his ears are totally normal according to her.
He is definitely teething, his top two are coming in and the gums are inflamed, red, swollen. But he seems fine and jolly all day long, its only when he lays down that he seems so pained. Can teething cause pain when lying down?
Finally when he passes out from exhaustion..he sleeps for about an hour, then is up wailing again. The last 5 nights or so, he has slept in the swing, which seems to help. If we leave him in his crib he is up every 2 hours…in the swing he slept last night from 10:45 pm to 4:00 am which is not as good as it used to be, but better than every 2 hours.
I also am worried (who me? worry?) that he is getting too used to boo.bie being the only way to fall asleep. We had kind of broken him of that habit by having Daddy read him a story after bedtime nursing, but again, last 2 weeks, wailing when trying to get him off the boo.b, so I just let him stay on there because I am weak and obviously a failure as a mother.

Oops, did I say that out loud?

Sigh.

Can anyone tell me anything to try?

Here is a pic of the little darling sleeping on our bed…proof that the child can indeed snooze, he just seems to have forgotten how lately…
Waah.

Photobucket

7 Responses to “>Sleep. Yes, I am writing about it again.”


  1. 1 MrsSpock September 14, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    >I have no clue. Most of the time J sleeps OK, with maybe a rough start at the beginning a couple times a week, and night-waking a night or two a week. We put him to bed at 7:30ish, feed him the last bottle, and rock him to sleep with our lullaby CDs playing. Last night he was up screaming three times between 8 and 930, and then fell asleep until 5. I have the sneaking suspicion is has everything to do with his temperment and nothing to do with our routine. I always just rock him back to sleep (no b.oobie for me 😦 ) and he seems to do OK with just rocking. I refuse to CIO, though I will give him a few minutes to see if he’ll settle himself.

  2. 2 Kimberly September 14, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    >This sounds VERY similar to what Ila started doing a couple of weeks ago. She sleeps fine in her crib during the day for naps, but has trouble only at night. She’ll go to sleep around 7:00-8:00, but will only sleep for about an hour before waking up SCREAMING. She still seems tired, and we’ll be able to get her back to sleep, but then she’ll wake up again doing the same thing. It takes a good 2-3 hours of trying to soothe her before she’ll really go back to sleep. She’s doing a little bit better about sleeping longer – when we FINALLY get her to sleep, she’ll sleep until 7am. I’m not really sure what is going on, but I’m hoping it’s just a phase. And good for you for not letting him CIO! I go into panic mode – anxious feeling, sweaty, etc – when she cries like that. It’s impossible for me just to shut the door and let her pass out from exhaustion.

  3. 3 Niksmom September 15, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    >Ask your ped to refer you to a gastroenterologist to evaluate for reflux. VERY painful if untreated. Try keeping him upright for about 20-30 min after feeding to let things settle down. If that seems to help, odds are it’s reflux. Good luck!

  4. 4 kateypie35 September 15, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    >Oh he has reflux. We’ve been down that road already…far down it. Already had all the tests at AI Dupont…barium swallow, upper GI…he is on Prilosec and Arythromicin…the correct dose for his weight. And he sleeps on a wedge in his crib. He has been doing great on those meds up until 2 weeks ago. So I am confident its not his reflux.

  5. 5 Niksmom September 15, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    >If your son has no reason to be followed by any of the other docs up at AI, you might want to get a second opinion or even ask your ped to refer you to the “Diagnostic Referral Group” at AI; they sort of specialize in trouble shooting what the other docs can’t find. You might want to investigate some other, less common things. I say that b/c it sure sounds like a lot of what we went through w/my son just before his 1st bday. Turned out he had intestinal malrotation w/a developing obstruction.The ONLY way they found it was when they were having to place a feeding tube (under xray) and it turned the opposite direction than they expected it to. Did your son’s barium swallow go the WHOLE route (i.e., top to bottom)? Just tossing out ideas. We’d had TONS of studies done w/Nik and no one found the malrotation until we’d been to the ER a few times b/c he was in such agony and couldn’t keep anything down for long. They told us it was a formula allergy but we knew it wasn’t.Sorry to ramble on your blog! Email me if you want more info or thoughts. NIKSMOTHER at GMAIL dot COM.

  6. 6 Niksmom September 15, 2008 at 10:41 pm

    >Oh, the other thing I really wanted to say was TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS. Truly. You know your child better than anyone; if you think there’s something not right, chances are you’re right.

  7. 7 Topcat September 15, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    >Oh, I have no assvice. Poor lil guyo. Any luck in finding out what it is? My 6 year old is right … “Mum, babies REALLY need to talk so they can tell you what’s wrong.”XOXOXOXO


Leave a Reply

