>Noshing and Sipping

>As I posted previously, I am not such a good cook. In fact, I pretty much suck at it. But I really want to be a good cook, especially now that I have a child. I’ve been making all of Boo Boo’s food with organic stuff (cause its pretty hard to screw up a single ingredient puree)…and its kinda inspired me to also start making some yummy dishes for the adults around here. We are trying to eat healthier…its a slow process, but we are trying. Can’t QUITE give up the Oreos yet though…rrrg.
Anyhoo, I read a lot of blogs, and many of them have weekly recipes, or sections where they feature favorite dishes. I’ve pulled quite a few recipes off of blogs, so I decided to do this kinda thing on my blog too. I know, right? Copycat! But maybe it will inspire me to keep coming up with things to cook, and maybe stray readers will be inspired too. Spread the food love!

So, here we go, my very first “Noshing and Sipping” post…hopefully one of many. I don’t know if I will do these a few times a week, or month, or what, but here goes…
Today I made Boo-man some delightful pumpkin puree. A nice way to welcome Autumn, no?
I bought a small organic pumpkin at our local health food store. I didn’t want to make too much, cause who knows if the kid will like it, and there is only so much pumpkin one can freeze.
Photobucket

Clean out seeds and stringy bits. Then, I cut the pumpkin into chunks. This was a mistake. Woops, live and learn! If you make this, just cut the pumpkin in half dork.
Photobucket

Place punkin’ chunkins’ (or halves if you aren’t a doofus like me) face down into a baking dish with an inch or so of water. Bake until soft (skin gets kind of puckery). It took my chunkies about 40 minutes, might take a smidge longer for proper halves.
Photobucket

Wait for pumpkin to cool. While waiting, take goofy pictures of yourself with a loved one. Ooo…my face!! You can see it!!!! ‘Scuse the bedhead.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Scoop out flesh of pumpkin, and puree in your handy dandy cuisinart or blender. You can sprinkle on some cinnamon if you are feeling saucy.
Photobucket

Smoosh into ice cube trays, and freeze. Then put frozen cubes in double freezer bag. Label. Should last 3 months.
Photobucket
Photobucket

Reheat a cube or two. Serve to offspring. Swoon at the cuteness. Pat yourself on back for feeding kid something yummo and healthy! Boo LOVED it, like ‘whining cause I wasn’t spooning it into his mouth fast enough’ kind of loved it. Woo hoo! Success! I RULE!
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

4 Responses to “>Noshing and Sipping”


  1. 1 MrsSpock September 9, 2008 at 2:02 am

    >Did you know you could make baby food in a crock pot? I haven’t done it yet, but I saw this recently on the Crock Pot Lady’s blog:http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/08/how-to-make-baby-food-in-your-crockpot.html

  2. 2 kateypie35 September 9, 2008 at 2:25 am

    >I did know that yep! I haven’t tried it yet either, but it might be my next experiment…thanks for the link!

  3. 3 mom2rebels September 9, 2008 at 3:26 am

    >Nice to finally have a face to put with the blog, lol! You look familiar, I’m sure I’ve seen you at the mall or something before. My older kiddos love pumpkin boiled and mashed like mashed potatoes with a bit of butter and honey. Yum!

  4. 4 kirke September 13, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    >Look out Martha Stewart! You are well on your way 🙂


Leave a Reply

