>Olympic Fever of Sorts…

>Well now that we know my hubbie is reading, lets really give him something to chew on…

So, the Olympics. Every night when Booman goes to bed, we switch them on. I am enjoying watching quite a bit. I can only dream that my body would ever accomplish such feats of athleticism. Amazing. Makes me feel so…chubby… and stay at home Mom-ish.

I am a little tired of beach volleyball, but other than that I could watch for hours. My favorites are women’s gymnastics, (how did I never see the trampoline event before?) track and field (men’s sprinting, HOLY COW they are fast), diving (synchronized is way cool)…and my very favorite, swimming. Not sure why I like swimming so much…I guess because I myself love to swim. I was on swim team every summer as a child. I know the butterflies before a race, I know the smell of the chlorine, I know the bubble splash whooooosh of water rushing over your head when you dive in. I know every stroke, I know the feeling of goggles pressing on your nose. Of course, I know these things on an 8 year old girl at Wedgewood Swim Club in New Jersey level….nowhere near an Olympic level. It must just be… awesome.

I have tried to watch as much of Michael Phelps as possible. What an incredible athlete! I watched the 7th gold, where I SWORE he came in 2nd until the slow motion replay. I was going nutso on the couch…wooo! Some people just call it pure luck that he took that last butterfly stroke while Mike Cavic was busy gliding. However, from my vast 8 year old girl swimmers knowledge, the hard and fast rule of a swim race is keep on kicking and pulling until you touch the wall, never stop to just glide in…tsk tsk Mike! I watched Phelps win his 8th gold in the medley…GO USA!! I had to silent cheer the whole time cause of the baby sleeping…but I was thrashing around on the couch the whole race. WaHOOooo! My heart was pounding…I usually do not get these kinds of physical reactions from sporting events, but the Olympics are special, no?

Anyway…Phelps…physical reactions…lets get down to the meaty part of this post. (heh heh, I said meaty). Yea, MP – he is yummy. Finely chiseled piece of man there, am I right? Firm. Young. Hairless. Sinewy. I know I am not alone here. I am totally with Dooce on this one. Who else is with me? Olympic watching is not all about admiring the athletic skill…its about bodies in perfect form and making a chubby stay at home Mom feel kinda giddy schoolgirlish. Woo! I mean really…
Shwing!

6 Responses to “>Olympic Fever of Sorts…”


  1. 2 seriously? August 21, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    >Hi! Here from ICLW. I had a discussion about this with my SIL on Sunday night after family dinner. She is totally into him. I think he is ok (an amazing athlete) but his body is so out of proportion I find it odd. He does have a great chisled bod though.Cute Son!

  2. 3 alicia August 21, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    >yummy! your baby is soo cute!! ahhhere from ICLW

  3. 4 Stephanie, Phil, Kayla, Logan & Alex August 21, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    >I totally agree! Makes it so much more fun to watch. đŸ™‚ Happy ICLW.

  4. 5 In Due Time August 22, 2008 at 12:03 am

    >Coming over from ICLW…I have to say, I haven’t been watching the Olympics much this year. But, YES, MP is haute!

  5. 6 kccat August 24, 2008 at 2:17 am

    >I always get into the olympics but this time I was watching everything. I eveh got my hubby watching. Watching Phelps was very exciting and couldn’t enough of it. Bring on the winter olympics!!!


Leave a Reply

