>Keen WAH

>Trying this recipe tonight:
Vegeterian Quinoa Stew
½ Cup Quinoa
1 Cup Water
2 Garlic Cloves
2 Tbsp. Vegetable Oil
1 Celery Stalk (Chopped)
1 Carrot (Cut on the diagonal into ¼ inch-thick pieces)
1 Bell Pepper (Cut into 1 inch pieces)
1 Cup Cubed Zucchini
2 Cups undrained chopped fresh or canned tomatoes
1 Cup Water or Vegetable Stock
2 Tsp. Cumin
½ Tsp. Chili Powder
1 Tsp. Coriander Pinch of Cayenne (or more to taste)
2 Tsp. Fresh Oregano (OR) 1 Tsp. Dried Oregano Chopped Fresh Cilantro (Optional)
Grated Cheddar (OR) Monterey Jack Cheese
Rinse quinoa well with cold water. Use a fine mesh filter or coffee filter. Place rinsed quinoa in pot with water and cook covered on medium-low heat for about 15 minutes until soft.While the quinoa is cooking place the onions, garlic and vegetable oil in covered soup pot and saute on medium heat for 5 minutes. Add celery and carrots to the soup pot and cook an additional 5 minutes stirring often. Add the bell pepper, zucchini, tomatoes, and one cup water or vegetable stock to soup pot. Stir in cumin, chili powder, coriander, cayenne and oregano to soup pot simmer covered for 10 to 15 minutes until vegetables are tender. Stir in cooked quinoa and salt to taste.Top with grated cheese (and optionally chopped cilantro)

I got the recipe off of the internet from some Joe Shmoe on Yahoo answers, so who knows if it will be good. But I love quinoa, and I am trying to eat more veggies, and it just sounds yum.
We’ll see! Oh if only I could come up with these dishes on my own though. I am ok following a recipe…but usually trying to just make something from scratch goes something like this:
Boil Water.
Look in Fridge.
Pull out random ingredients.
Half-heartedly chop some things.
Run out of ideas.
Feel useless.
Ask husband to whip something up.
Enjoy.

I read a post on this same topic on a blog I read…My Topography . I am glad to know I am not the only one who worries about being less than chefly. How is it that my hubbs is so much better at cooking than me? Embarrassing! I am working on it though. Trying to be responsible for at least one meal a week…trying to cook with fresh ingredients…trying to get the basics down. I want Boo Boo to grow up and be able to say “Oh I love my Mom’s ____” or “My Mom makes the very best ____”. See? I cant even come up with the names of interesting dishes for Boo Boo to love. Is he really going to have to say “Oh I love my Mom’s Spaghettio’s, she adds chopped hot dog.” POOR LITTLE MAN!!!!

0 Responses to “>Keen WAH”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

